Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Timeline of the Civil War

October 1859:
John Brown's raid on Harper’s Ferry, Virginia.

December 1859:
Brown is hanged for murder and treason at Charles Town, Virginia. John Wilkes Booth watches the execution from the crowd.

November 1860:
Abraham Lincoln is elected President.

December 1860:
Lincoln’s election triggers South Carolina to secede from the Union.

January 1860 – February 1861:
Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas secede from the Union.

January 1861:
Kansas is admitted as a free state...Click here to read more: http://civilwarsaga.com/timeline-of-the-civil-war/

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.